Just another day

As days go there have been too many between my last non bowling post. I’m sorry, there really is no good reason for it.

Last Sunday The Hubby and I had the pleasure of meeting our good friends Walt and Ken for Brunch at our new favorite restaurant that still offers a Brunch Buffet. I don’t know why so many places have gotten away from the Buffet. We always enjoy meeting up with them, and wish we could do it more often, but with the 2 1/2 hour drive between us and them. The time flies when the 4 of us are together, just as it should when you are with people you care about.

My meeting in NYC went great. The weather wasn’t very cooperative in making it a “clean” visit. A snow storm hit the day before my trip so it made for a slushy walk around the city. We had a good meeting with the main contact and then a nice lunch across the street. It was then back to their office in a conference room for a larger presentation to the marketing team. It was nice to put faces with names of people I have emailed with and worked with for a couple of years.

20140201-205556.jpgThe above picture was taken on Monday at my office. We arrived to work to find that there was no heat in our office due a boiler issue. Normally I am not one to complain about the cold but no heat makes a difference. I didn’t keep the hat on very long but the sweater stayed on for most of the day. They fixed the boiler by mid day but the office just didn’t warm enough up by the end of the day.

20140201-205610.jpgSo I don’t normally go all out like I did last weekend but I bought 2, yes I said 2 new pair of shoes. Granted they are the same show in 2 different colors but it is 2 pair of shoes none the less. The above ones in Blue I wore for the first time this week. Since they are Suede I am avoiding wearing them when it is snowy, or rainy out. They were well received by “the Lunch Girls” and of course my twitter friends were the ones who convinced me to keep both pairs.

My travel arrangements for work have finally been finalized. The good news is I get to go to our Chicago office. The bad news is I fly into Chicago Tuesday Morning and back home Wednesday Afternoon. I know not much time at all, so it will be all work for me. We do have a Cocktail Reception to celebrate the wins from 2013 on the Tuesday night at a fancy Art Gallery.

So a couple weeks ago we had a team “meeting”, since we are all remote from each other it was a phone call with an online presentation, I had the idea that we needed Team TShirts. I started thinking, and put my limited design skills to work, and came up with a few options. I enlisted 2 of the girls on my team to offer their opinions. What we finally ended up with I presented to our Boss who in turn told me that they were already working on that, and hooked me up with the woman on our Marketing Team who was in charge.

I presented her my final design as a starting point, and with her skills which are greater than mine, she came up with the below mock up. It is very close to what we came up with, and I feel honored that she liked it enough to tweak it. The back of the shirt will have the definition of Swagger on it “how one presents him or her self to others”

20140201-205616.jpg

Saturday was spent running errands and visiting Mom, who incidentally wound up in the hospital with dehydration and low kidney function. She is on the mend and hopefully won’t be there too much longer. So I’m sitting at home surfing the Face Space and watching TV when a friend of ours posts a link to this fancy new group coming to one of our local Theater spaces.

Well Strung is a group of 4 (HOT) men who sing and play Violin, Viola, and Cello. Now I am always up for new ventures, and I mean hello just look at them. I played a couple clips of theirs and they seem right up my alley. So not only are the Hubby and I sitting in the front Row but so are 4 of our friends! It’s sad I have to wait until May to Gawk at see them.

20140201-205700.jpg

Tomorrow we have plans to attend a friends Superb Owl party. Yes I know it’s a play on the Superbowl, since none of us really care for football and they canceled bowling for the night we had nothing else to do. The Hubby will be making Chili and I will be making a dessert. I will reveal all tomorrow after the party as I don’t want to ruin the surprise of what I am making, and I know 2 of the guests know of my blog and may or may not read it. Go Team!

One thought on “Just another day

Leave a Reply

