For Auld Lang Syne

20131228-205234.jpg

My true-love hath my heart, and I have his,
By just exchange one for the other given:
I hold his dear, and mine he cannot miss;
There never was a bargain better driven.
His heart in me keeps me and him in one,
My heart in him his thoughts and senses guides;
He loves my heart for once it was his own;
I cherish his because in me it bides.
His heart his wound receivèd from my sight;
My heart was wounded with his wounded heart;
For as from me on him his hurt did light,
So still methought in me his hurt did smart:
Both equal hurt, in this change sought our bliss,
My true love hath my heart and I have his.

-Sir Philip Sydney

I know I post this poem every year but it has special meaning to us as it was included in all 3 of our Ceremonies (Commitment, Civil union, and Wedding) in some fashion be it Invitations or Wedding vows. As the clock strikes Midnight we will be toasting in the New Year with our Friends and loved ones, my favorite way to celebrate. Wherever you may be at Midnight I raise a glass to you! Year 16 was like no other, but we persevered through the good and the bad, and we set forth to make year 17 together better than ever.

Some of the good Highlights are below, the bad highlights I will leave to blow away in the wind as 2014 settles in around us.

 Jan – Bowling Year # 6 Started!

Feb – A great day spent in the City with Friends Seeing Avenue Q.

March – One of many lunches with our Friends Walt and Ken and a St Patty’s Day Lunch with my Girlfriend while the Hubby basked in the heat of Ft Lauderdale for a work conference.

April – My Birthday Month celebrated with Dinner and seeing Kinky Boots on Broadway.

May – Spring Sprung and with it was The Hubby’s Birthday, along with our Annual Memorial Day Meat-a-Palooza, the Wedding of our Friends Matt and Robin, AND the Final night of Bowling League season with Team Alley Oops (that’s us) clinching first place.

June – We found ourselves celebrating a friends graduation from Med School and Parade Season for the Drum Corps in full swing. It was also the annual Greyhound Adoption Group Picnic.

July – A winery hopping we will go and this year was no different. This was year #4 for us to attend the Grapehounds Winery Weekend and yet again we had a most fabulous time.

August – Along with the 4th Anniversary of Gayme Night, Mom’s Birthday, and Mom and Dad’s 40th Anniversary, the Hubby and I managed to squeeze in a little cruise to the Southern Caribbean.

September -The Drum Corps marched in the Mardi Gras parade at The Big E in Massachusetts and along with that we met some new friends we who knew from Twitter.

October – For the 2nd year in a row we found ourselves attending a benefit our Friend Hosts for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. We also started up Season 3 Recap nights for Downton Abbey to get ready for Season 4.

November – We managed to sneak in another Winery Weekend this time Called Deck The Halls, sans dogs, and realize we really enjoy visiting the Finger Lakes and wine touring.

December – Aside from the holidays, we attended the concert of my favorite A Capella group Straight No Chaser, and celebrated over dinner the 50th Birthday of a good friend of ours.

I leave with Good Wishes and Much Happiness in the coming year, and the accompanying song from Straight No Chaser to my Blog Title.

One thought on “For Auld Lang Syne

Leave a Reply

