Ain’t no sunshine in my disco break

Last night I had the pleasure of attending a very good friends very big night out.

My friend Steven is very passionate about raising money for The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, it’s one of his endearing qualities, we all need something to support. Aside from the local Light the Night walk he participates in with his Team from his company, he coordinates and Emcees Rock for a Remedy.

Rock for a Remedy 4 was last night and had a stellar crowd, from what I hear larger than previous years. What makes this fundraiser so great is that ALL the money collected between the Suggested Donation at the door and the money made from the Raffle prizes goes to LLS. How many fundraisers that you go to can brag about that. The Restaurant, Vintage Bar, donated the space, all the raffle prizes were donated and the Rock and Roll bands that performed donated their time.

The opening cover band was Father Nelson and the Backsliders who are very popular in the Westchester County NY Area. They performed last year and were very good, though I didn’t know all of their songs. The Main attraction was new this year and I applaud Steven for picking this awesome cover band for this honor. Ursuland was amazing and the short video below certainly do not do her Justice. I want to thank Steven for a wonderful night, I know he was very grateful we traveled on a work night (only about 45 minutes) to help support him, but it’s what friends do ya know.

To say things at the office have been a whirlwind of change and information overload would be an understatement. On Oct 1, after months of speculation and work on our part, we were told that along with getting the title change (to Project Coordinator) we would also be part of a reorganization and have a new reporting structure.

As I have said for the last couple years, I never understood how the Customer Support Team was umbrella’d under the Operations dept along with our Technology and Data Compilation teams. Well the time has come for us to be aligned with the Sales Dept once again. There wasn’t much information given last week other than we would be moved and integrated into Sales. This meeting was on the heels of finding out 2 Sales reps were on their way out of the company, one on Sept 30th, the other left Oct 4th, and now we find out today that a third one is leaving on Tuesday.

This past Wednesday we had another meeting with the VP of sales to further break down the new reporting structure. We were going from a Team of 12 all reporting into 2 different people, to being dispersed amongst the District Sales Managers in teams of 2 or 3. I for one am very happy with this change as I have been very unhappy with the 2 Leaders we are moving out from under. They are both staying with the company, one moving into sales with us, the other going back to the Data team where she was before she was flung into the Customer Support Team Leader role.  The team is split 40(happy)/60(more worried) on this move. I fall into the 40, I could go so far as to say I fall into the 20% who are Ecstatic. My new leader actually works remotely from his home in Iowa and I have started reffering to him as The Lumberjack because of his full beard, flannel, and laissez a faire attitude. He gets me. He knows I will do my job to the best of my ability and reach out to him for support and help when I need it. I like working this way. I know how to do my job and I do it well.

Today was the final day of me covering for my coworker (who also happens to be a good friend) while she was on vacation for 2 weeks. I am very happy she will be back Monday. I was so happy this afternoon I decided to take a Disco Break around 3pm.

And yes this disco ball DOES hang at my desk for all to see. The hubby was the one who bought me the cute little USB light I plug into my desktop and shine on for all to see.

3 thoughts on “Ain’t no sunshine in my disco break

  1. kathys Bacon says:

    I am supervised by a person who wants me to train them and others and still gey my job done ~ no ability to learn whether I train or she reads the same job aids I learned from – at the end of the day she will never do the work, train a person to do the work or fully understand as she demonstrates daily she doesn’t even understand what she does know and how it relates to general ledger ….

    This guy used to say its time to shake the tree and get rid of the dead wood. The past couple years have shown that is exactly what needs to be done. Long past due. People stuck in their ways. Uneducated. No analytical skills. No computer experience to understand how interfaces and the system work together and when they don’t where to begin to resolve issues.

    Maybe I need a disco ball.

Leave a Reply

