from where I sit

For the past week I have been working from home. Now I think both the company and I benefit from this.

I benefit because I have the flexibility to take care of some things without having to worry about driving 45 minutes to the office, which is really only 25 miles away, and they benefit because I believe they get a more productive employee.

Now don’t get me wrong I am very productive at the office, many of you have probably seen pictures of my cube at The Judgmental Corner. I have two monitors, something that we didn’t realize was so amazing until we had them. It’s been about 4 years of using them for my department.

Having these 2 monitors has allowed me to pretty much go paperless in my day to day activities which is all good in the long run. I keep my Order Management System open on one screen and my email on the other and work between the 2.

Now don’t get me wrong I do take a few me moments while at the office to visit and help out other coworkers with things away from my desk, I am not glued to my chair. When I am home there is no one to interact with save for the Office Communicator where I can chat with my teammates.

The downside to working remotely, so far the only one I can think of is that I don’t have 2 monitors. I have yet to decide if the Doggies offering to help me is an advantage or disadvantage.

photo

The last few times I worked form home I sat at the kitchen counter and worked there. This time around I have decided to sit in the gameroom area we created back around Christmas. There is natural light, no TV to distract me, and the loveseat is a lot more comfortable to sit on than the barstool. Now if only I could find something to elevate the work computer, or just sit with it on my lap.

That’s about it for now. Still waiting for the bowling stats to be updated.

 

 

2 thoughts on “from where I sit

  1. When I work from home I have to follow a couple of rules or else I’m not as productive as I could be: 1. I have to be dressed and wearing shoes. If I’m barefooted I’m not going to work as hard. 2. I can’t have a video source running, but I have to be listening to something. I can’t reports or documentation if the music has words but I can write code. I usually go with some ambient music channel and that works well. 3. I have to remember to take breaks at regular intervals and find some natural light.

    The thought of working in my underwear was kind of fun but it didn’t help my productivity levels at all and I was afraid I was going to lose the privilege of working from home if my productivity levels suffered. If I find a way to be productive in my skivvies, I’ll let you know.

  2. I do agree that I need a few things to keep me focused. I usually have my socks and slippers on, don’t want cold feet. Since I am used to noise, I will listen to my podcasts from itunes, at work I would be listening through headphones anyway. I will take short breaks as well. I take them when in the office so I will do the same at home.

    I will say though at home breaks may consist of laundry, dishes, or vacuuming, whereas work ones are chatting with coworkers. I do find that I do not take an official hour lunch at home like I do in the office, pro or con not really sure.

    In the winter underwear working not so much, in the summer i’m more apt to do that. I look forward to your productivity report in regards to working in your skivvies.

Leave a Reply

