Feed me Seymour

If you couldn’t tell by the title, this is going to be a food heavy post. I’m sure you won’t complain too much, after all tis the season for Food with Thanksgiving quickly approaching.

Let’s start with Thursday night, a fellow tweeter was in the state not far from us for some training for work. Both his and our schedules allowed it so we decided to meet up for dinner. Sean is just as lovely in person as he is on twitter. After a couple days of research, the town he was in isn’t well known for their culinary selections, we decided on a place called Little Pub.

This was my second trip here, the first being a few months prior with some other friends, but it was the hubbies first time. I think He was as impressed as I was with the food and the ambiance of the place.

20121119-204140.jpg

I started with the Huckleberry Lemonade which was served in a mason jar. Très Chic.

20121119-204147.jpg

As an appetizer I ordered the Eggplant Frites. They were so addictive I ate the whole plate.

The only issue I had with them was the red sauce that came with them was cold.

20121119-204152.jpg

No picture of the burger I had but this was my second drink

A Moscow Mule. I must say I didn’t know what to expect but thoroughly enjoyed it.

Friday night the hubby and I stayed in and I made some pretty good waffles but the chicken didn’t come out the way I was hoping.

Saturday we got up and put the first of 2 coats of paint on the walls in the bedroom, the second coat went on after we got back from running our usual errands. The color is called Barley, it’s almost a dulce de leche or caramel color. It looks really nice and covered the old Wilton Blue that was on the walls. The worst part was sleeping in the double bed in the spare room. Thankfully that was only one night.

After our busy day we met the couple that hosts Gayme Night at the park and ride  and carpooled it down to Queens to meet another couple (I know what you are thinking, 6 queens in Queens) for dinner at Chifa, a Peruvian Chinese restaurant. Sam who is one half of the couple that planned the night is Peruvian so we were taking his word on how good it was going to be.

20121119-204158.jpg

We started with the Wantan Frita

20121119-204202.jpg

This was half of my meal the Lomo Asado

Chinese BBQ style roasted pork

Along with the pork I ordered the Ceviche de Pescado

It was Fabulous and acidic the fish was delicious and full of onions and cilantro.

20121119-204213.jpg

For the table we ordered this plate of Chicken Fried Rice unbelievably this entire plate of rice was only $4.95. We all had some and there was still enough to take home for leftovers.

Sunday was more housework, putting the bedroom back together and some yard work for the hubby. Some groceries for the week, a few things for the house, some stuff for Thanksgiving, which happens to be the biggest food day of the year.

We will have the usual, Deep Fried Turkey and Mac and Cheese, along with all the other sides and baked Turkey. We will also be doing Deep Fried Pickles again, they have been a big hit the last few years. I’ll report more on that later in the week.

Here’s hoping the rest of the work week, Tuesday and Wednesday are kind to everyone. I for one am hoping for a half day Wednesday, to make the long weekend even longer. I rather enjoy having the Friday after Turkey day off, but you won’t find me shopping that’s for sure.

So to all of my American readers I wish you a very Happy Thanksgiving and a Joyous Black Friday.

Leave a Reply

