Blowing in the wind

Oh Sandy!

And no I don’t mean my doggie Sandy (isn’t she cute?), going to be 13 on Christmas day.

Sandy blew into town and thankfully blew out of town quickly and with minimal damage here. We had a few branches come down and some fence panels blow loose but that was the bulk of it. The Mothership surprised us all and closed the offices on Monday and Tuesday, but since I had a laptop I worked from home.  This made for a very weird week and month end. 2 days home 3 days in the office, then another storm forecast for the following week.

The Frankenstorm as they took to calling it was forecast for the Wednesday after Halloween, which had been canceled due to Sandy. What I thought was supposed to be Rain down near the office and a bit of snow at home was way off the mark. We had an offsite meeting Weds morning at a hotel that sits in front of our office. I thought nothing of it and walked over. During the meeting I could see out the window and watch the snowflakes start to fall.

I had a feeling panic would set in and I was right. Slowly but surely everyone in my dept trickled out of the office going home cause of the snow. Now we live in New England, snow is a natural occurrence in the winter (granted Nov is technically not winter) but honestly we all should know how to drive in it. Now I am usually one of the last to panic over some snow, but I was mad at myself for not believing the weather man and putting gloves and a snow brush in my car.

What I did have was my lunch bag and the Drum major Baton I used the last 3 years so I made do with what I had and cleaned off the car. My manager came over about 4:15 and told me to go home. I was 1 of 3 in my dept who hadn’t left yet. The drive home wasn’t terrible, I honestly think by waiting I avoided everyone else leaving early. Since drum corps was canceled (this makes 2 weeks in a row due to weather), the hubby and I hunkered in for the night.

It was good to finally see 2 crazy work weeks come to an end.

Yesterday we had lunch plans with our 2 favorite out of town friends. It has been a long time since we have seen them, we figure it was back in June for their wedding. We love meeting Walt and Ken for lunch at our favorite restaurant. We have such a good time with them. This time was no exception, they even managed to convince us to join them on a short 3 night cruise in 3 weeks. So the hubby and I thought it about while we ran our errands, came home and did some research and decided we were going.

Now 3 nights will not be nearly long enough, so we are still looking at planning another longer cruise for March or April. This would make 3 cruises in less than a year since I am still in the planning stages of the Drum Corps Cruise for next Sept for our Anniversary celebration.

So I guess we have much to look forward to between now and the end of the year. Thanksgiving, the Cruise, another Straight No Chaser concert, a Cabaret show, Christmas, and New Years. Whew I feel tired already.

6 thoughts on “Blowing in the wind

Leave a Reply

