Seasons Change

And with the changing of the seasons comes my twice yearly attack of the senses. This October was no different from the rest, fall allergies flared up right time, then somehow turned into Bronchitis. I am on the downward spiral of it thankfully.

So I guess it’s time to catch you up on the goings on here.

Mostly it’s been the weekends that have been chock full of friendly goodness. The first weekend of the month my friend Glenn and the Improv group he belongs to (which I  blogged about here) brought the show on the road for 2 night’s to Connecticut. So I did what I do best, rallied the troops and brought 7 of my good friends (and one friends daughter and mother) to the Saturday show.

It had to be one of the best show’s I have seen them do. The crowd was great the improv players were on the ball. A good time was had by all. They performed at the Carriage House Arts Center, which gets its name from the fact that it was at one time the carriage house for a Mansion that still stands on the grounds of Cranbury Park.

20121025-080825.jpg

The following week I had the pleasure of attending a Benefit a good friend of mine was in charge of for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society local chapter called Rock for a Remedy.

20121025-080805.jpg

The night consisted of 2 local bands who donated their time that night to perform to help raise money for Team Berlin and the Light the Night walk. It’s not too late to donate! The event was held at a great little restaurant in White Plains NY called Vintage Bar. Aside from the Hubby and I, there were some of our other friends who joined in the festivities. The place was super cute, the food was fabulous, the company was amazing and although I didn’t win any of the raffle prizes we still enjoyed ourselves.

20121025-080909.jpg

This is our friend Mike, half of the couple who hosts the monthly Gayme Night we attend. Which we attended just 2 days after the other night out. Another fun night and another disturbing game of Cards Against Humanity was played.

Last Friday (seems like it was just yesterday) we got together with some other friends to go out and partake of a local restaurants Oktoberfest Menu. This is actually the same place we go to for our monthly Gay Social Night out on the first Monday of the Month. The new owners have been fabulous and the menu looked quite interesting when we first saw it.

Half of this couple is of German descent so it was going to go one of 2 ways, really well or really bad. Thankfully everything we ordered was delicious and our friend was surprised at how authentic it was.

20121025-080734.jpg

This was my starter – Potato Pancakes with homemade applesauce and sour cream.

20121025-080725.jpg

For dinner I ordered the Mixed Plate because I couldn’t decide what to have so I had a little of everything

Sauerbraten, Grilled Pork Chop, and a Wurst with Spaetzle and Red cabbage.

That brings us to the current week. Pretty uneventful so far. Looking forward to date night tonight with the hubby. Tomorrow night we have a halloween party at my uncle’s house and I guess some preparedness to do for Hurricane Sandy (not to be confused with our Greyhound Sandy). This is the 2nd year in a row Halloween weekend/week has been plagued by weather. Last year was the freak blizzard we got.

Now on to a more serious topic. This past monday was the annual Election of offices at Drum Corps. Surprisingly to me I was not elected to be Drum Major again this year, the members decided they wanted the old guy I took over from 3 years ago. So I stand at a crossroads both in life and with the blog.  I think I will be going back to playing the Bells for the corps again and making a difference in the music we play, my other option is to join the ranks of the retired and crazy and carry a flag.

So that just leaves the blog. Since I am no longer a drum major should I consider changing the name of the blog? If so I think I will need to create another blog with a different link through WordPress and import all of these posts (or not and just start fresh). So those of you who have been through this let me know your thoughts either via email or in the comments. And if you know me well enough (either through reading the blog or twitter) and have a recommendation on a new blog name let me know. I will consider most options.

And now back to your regularly scheduled programming. I think I have avoided work for long enough this morning. As it is it took me an hour just to type this up since work kept getting in the way.

4 thoughts on “Seasons Change

Leave a Reply

