Back in Glenn’s day

The title of this post seemed to be the running gag at our friends Fabulous 50th Birthday party. Saturday was the big day, and Glenn invited practically everyone he knew. He wanted to do what he enjoyed to celebrate this milestone and that included Comedy and Friends.

Our day started with a quick Greyhound Meet & Greet in the morning. We do roughly 2 of these a month to spread the word of Greyhound adoption, though in the summer we cut back only because it is too hot for the dogs to be out. After the M&G we packed up the car, grabbed The Girlfriend, and on the road again we went. A quick stop to pick up another friend, and we were on our way to New York City.

It’s always an adventure when venturing into New York. We parked the car then walked the 3 blocks over to the Comedy club where the party and show were being held. It was a fun afternoon of eating and drinking, all courtesy of the Birthday Boy and his Husband. The best part was getting to see a bunch of friends we haven’t seen in months, some years.

At 5:00 the lights were dimmed and the Comedy began. Glenn has been a member of ComedySportz® for many years, both in Los Angeles and New York. From the website ComedySportz® is described as:

It’s not stand-up comedy about sports,
it’s improv comedy played as a sport.

ComedySportz® is fast-paced, family-friendly improvisational comedy, played as a sport. Two teams take turns making up scenes, playing games and singing songs – and the audience votes on which team they like the best. It’s all presided over by a referee, who keeps things moving, calls the ComedySportz® fouls and takes suggestions shouted out by the audience before each game.

Some of the other players we have seen before and others were brand new to the group and to us. One of my favorites was Amelia, she just had it all going for her. The show was spectacular as always, they played some good games, some so-so games, and then the final game was “Back in Glenns’ Day”, which was a take off on the normal game Back In My Day.

Here are some pictures I snapped during the show.

I knew at some point after the show we would need dinner, so during the afternoon I whipped my my handy OpenTable app to see where I could get us a reservation for at least 10. I had warned a few of our friends that we would do dinner and invited them along. If I do say so myself I came up a winner in the dinner department. It can be difficult to please 17 people (more on that later) but I managed fairly well.

So I made the reservation for the 12 of us, 10 friends plus the Birthday Boy and his Husband if they were able to join us. As we leave the show I do a count and see there is 1 straggler, and 2 additional invitees I knew of. So on the phone I go calling to find out if they can now accomodate 15. Keep in mind it is now 7:30 on a Saturday with an 8:00 reservation. So off we go to walk to few blocks to Gossip Bar and Restaurant. Another quick survey of the group and I count 2 more heads that have joined the group. This throws me into full on panic mode. I am in no place to tell the Birthday Boy that he can’t invite people but at the same time I am worried we will get to the restaurant and get some push back for 17 people showing up.

I was worried for absolutely no reason. Although I was surprised that this place wasn’t busier than it was. They easily accommodated us in the back of the restaurant at a long table that took up most of the back room. Everyone I asked said their meal was fantastic. I had the Burger Special,  a delicious fresh made burger with Chili and bacon on an english muffin, with a side of house made Tater Tots, with a Margarita to wash it all down. Not only was the food great but the staff did an outstanding job catering to such a large party. The prices were very reasonable as well which can be quite shocking in New York City.

Sunday was just another day of running errands and a friend visiting for dinner, nothing too exciting really. I did call my Dad and told him I gave him the best Father’s day gift of all. I stayed home and didn’t bother him!

Tuesday we were invited to $5 movie night with our friends Mike and Geoff. The movie of the evening was Prometheus. I will say I enjoyed the movie, but was it absolutely out of this world (pun intended) fantastic, oh my word this is a must see over and over again. No.

Which brings us to Weds and the Summer Solstice. We certainly noticed that summer arrived. The hottest day of the month so far. And what made it extra special was we celebrated by marching in a parade. Thankfully the parade started at 7 so the sun had a bit of a chance to go down but it was by no means what you would call a cool night. A little sweat never hurt anyone….

Back in Glenn’s day you didn’t sweat….you melted.

3 thoughts on “Back in Glenn’s day

Leave a Reply

