Gallantly Streaming

Happy day after Flag Day! We will get back to that glorious occasion shortly. For now I have some other stuff to catch up on.

We started Summer hours at work last week, this is both a blessing and a hindrance. It’s a blessing because 1 day a week I can leave the office at 2pm. The hindrance is the fact I need to find someone to cover for me for 3 hours.The half hour lunch kinda hurts too.

Weds was the beginning of a busy drum corps week. We led the parade for one of our staple Fire Dept’s we have marched with this fire company for many many years and every year we lead their hometown parade which kicks off the Carnival they have set up at the Firehouse and use as a fund raiser. The skies were gloomy all day but just as the parade was set to begin, the Rainbow appeared and the rain stopped and off we went.

Saturday was round 2 for parades, this time we were at the ass end of the parade. Why this particular Fire Dept we march for INSISTS on being last is beyond me. I drove to the parade as I wanted to just get in my car and leave as soon as we were done. When I arrived I saw some other people (including my younger brother) parked in a grassy area on the Highway on Ramp, so I backed in, and we just happen to end the parade right there. Quick change and off I sped.

The reason I drove was because Saturday was also Gayme night. I drove home, picked up the hubby and off we went to see our friends and everyone else who showed up. It was a fabulous time as always! Seems next month is up in the air for me on Gayme night as I have a parade that afternoon too, this one is a bit farther away.

Sunday was the trifecta, this time not a parade but a local Flag Day Ceremony put on by our local Elks, which I also happen to be a member. The ceremony is actually very nice, after 18 years of it though I can do the speaking parts. For the Drum Corps part of it we play the National Anthem (see first pic), then they read the history behind each flag, and as the flag is brought into the room and placed in the flag stand the Drum Corps plays a song (well part of a song) as musical accompaniment. As they brought in the last flag we played our Military Medley song, this one we played all the way through and then left.

Meanwhile, back at the compound, the hubby was entertaining everyone with food and drink ( we did manage to eat before I left) at Brunch. This was our turn for the Revolving brunch we do with 3 other couples. We went with a Mexican Theme (suggested by one of our friends). I think he suggested mexican just so he could make a million Tamales.

Here is the table setting. Thankfully it was nice out and we could eat outside.

Here is all the fabulous food we had!

Oven Braised Mexican Beef

(although I did this in the crock-pot which I would certainly do again. Low for 10 hours)

The Hubby Smoked some Pork and Chicken to make Tacos out of.

Mexican Baked Eggs

Not pictured seperately but also on the menu were, Tortilla Chips and Queso, Fried potatoes, Tamales, The Appetizer one of the couples brough which was Tortilla chips topped with Guacamole and Crab Salad. Dessert was Brownie Sundae’s and Monkey bread. I did manage to find a Signature Drink called  Mexican 75. We were hesitant about this orginally, it was pretty much Tequila, Agave Nectar and Champagne, but oh my was it delicious.***

All this delicious food earlier in the day left us fully satisfied that we didn’t even have dinner. As a side note, the hubby and I have been on an adjusted eating arrangement (I won’t call it a diet). I made sure to weigh myself Sunday morning and was happy to see the scale show 2 0’s, I figure within a week the first Number will be a 1 (when that does happen you will hear the scream wherever you are!)

The new pump came for the pool last week so that is finally up and running, the water is clear, now to just get the temperature up. It was 74 on Sunday still too chilly for a dip (unless we did the Polar Bear Plunge). No parades until next week, this year is a little lighter in June for parades.

Yesterday at the office we had a visit from the Fabulous Traveling Sundae bus!The bus pulls up, sets up, you go in get a cup of ice cream and then proceed to add toppings and then go on your way.

This weekend will be filled with more friends and fun, one of my best friends, who also happens to be the longest gay friendship I have had (I’ve known him slightly longer than my hubby) turns 50 on Saturday. He and His husband are throwing a party in NYC at the club where he performs Improv. The party part is early afternoon then in the early evening we are treated to a ComedySportz show. We have seen many of these and always enjoy them.

***All recipes were compiled from my new favorite website Punchfork

Leave a Reply

