Food, Fun, Friends

My 3 favorite F words! And I got to enjoy all of them this week.

The first half of the week was dreary, rain sat over us for 3 days which makes for a dismal day at the office.

Friday things improved immensely as we had dinner plans with my Former Work Wife and our Gal Pal for our Gal Pals Birthday. Our Gal Pal  and I both had emails from our favorite Pub to enjoy a free entree for our birthdays. My arrive a week late than my Birthday so I had the entire month of May to enjoy it, she had a 2 week time span.

We started with a bowl of Mussels (which I did not partake in), and the Shrimp and Scallop Ceviche (which I did), and I had my favorite soup of all time French Onion. I tend to judge a place on their Onion Soup and this place does it well.

For my entree I had Rum and Coke Baby back ribs and Chicken. They were super soft, fall off the bone, delicious. These went well with the Gingerhorse drinks I had, Pear Vodka, Pear Nectar, and Ginger Vodka.

I splurged on dessert and had their special, Chocolate Mousse with a Chocolate popover, whipped cream and fresh fruit.

Saturday we got an early morning text from our friends who host Gayme night for a dinner invite, they were having a small get together (4 couples in total) that night. Naturally, I brought dessert as it seems that’s what I tend to do best. I searched for a gluten free cake recipe (more on that later) and found a pretty good Gluten Free Lemon Cake.

We had a fabulous time hanging out with everyone after our long day of Doggy meet & greeting and our usual errands to Costco and Shoprite.

The biggest event of the weekend was our end of season Bowling Picnic. After having a week off from seeing everyone I was super excited to see them all again (although a few of them were noticeably absent). The party was held at the Gay Community Center that semi sponors our league. Although we wished it could have been outside as it turned out to be a gorgeous day, every time we plan for outside it rains.

Team AlleyOops took 3rd place and received the Plaque to prove it, along with a small bit of money. I was also surprised that the league officers had sneakily ordered 5 year pins for those of us who have been around since the very beginning of the league.

20120521-105320.jpg

I volunteered to bring my “famous” Quinoa Salad which I have adapted from one I found online, and my Coleslaw. I know I don’t normally do this but I thought I would share the recipe for everyone to enjoy.  This is not your typical coleslaw as it is made with Oil and Vinegar instead of mayonnaise. have already given it away to 2 twitter pals, one of which happens find Mayonnaise revolting. So please enjoy this perfect for picnics summer dish and let me know via comment or email if you make it!

Sweet and Sour Coleslaw –

1 pound cabbage – red or green – shredded
1 large carrot peeled and grated
½ cup sugar
2 teaspoons kosher salt
¼ tsp celery seed
6 tablespoons vegetable oil
¼ cup rice wine vinegar
Black Pepper

Toss Cabbage and Carrot with Salt and Sugar and let sit in a colander let sit until wilted.

Empty liquid from bowl rinse clean and empty cabbage and carrot into bowl.

Toss with oil and vinegar and season to taste with pepper.

Notes –
I use both red and green cabbage as I find it makes for a great color combo.

I will normally shred toss with salt and sugar and let sit overnight sometimes longer, mixing it a few times, I like the cabbage really wilted.

Since I’ve been making this long enough I don’t really measure. I use half a head of each cabbage and 2-3 carrots depending on size.

I use poppy seed and caraway seed and eyeball it no measuring here.

Again no measuring of the oil and vinegar I add enough to make it wet and to taste.

Make it once and then adjust everything to your taste.

Leave a Reply

