My True-Love Hath My Heart

My true-love hath my heart, and I have his,
By just exchange one for the other given:
I hold his dear, and mine he cannot miss;
There never was a bargain better driven.
His heart in me keeps me and him in one,
My heart in him his thoughts and senses guides;
He loves my heart for once it was his own;
I cherish his because in me it bides.
His heart his wound receivèd from my sight;
My heart was wounded with his wounded heart;
For as from me on him his hurt did light,
So still methought in me his hurt did smart:
Both equal hurt, in this change sought our bliss,
My true love hath my heart and I have his.

-Sir Philip Sydney

With New Years Eve upon us, It is time to look back and reflect on the year past, and the year to come.

New Years Eve also happens to be Our Anniversary.

As my husband and I set forth on year 15 together I thought it appropriate to take a look back at the years gone by. Let’s break it down by the numbers.

1998 – The year we met.

2003 – Our First Commitment Ceremony

2005 – Our Civil Union

2008 – Our Wedding

So that’s 14 years complete, 8 years committed, 6 years Civilly Unioned, and 3 Years Married.

My True Love truely hath my Heart.

Our Commitment Ceremony 2004

Our Cake that our Good Friend Corey Made.

To the left of the cake you can see the Champagne Glasses that we made to give to all of the guests.

2005 Our Civil Union

As part of the Civil Union we had a Candle Lighting. Each guest lit a small candle while the Hubby and I lit the big Silver candle in the middle.

Our Wedding in 2008.

We figured since we had subjected all of our friends to 2 previous ones, we would forgo the big wedding and invite a small group as witness.

2 thoughts on “My True-Love Hath My Heart

  1. Dear Kevin & Brian,

    Wow! 15 Years… I’m embarrassed that I didn’t know this. Not something I’m likely to forget going forward. I truly hope that 2012 brings great joy, love and happiness to both of you. Relationships such as yours deserve recognition and respect by all.

    And with that, I’ll close with a belated wish for what I hope was a very Happy Anniversary.

    All my best,
    Veritable Virgo
    XO

Leave a Reply

