For the dogs

This past weekend was a very busy one, but not one spent at any of the Pride celebrations. Don’t get me wrong, I am very happy and proud of my neighbor state of NY but NYC Pride was no place I wanted to be this weekend. Been there before, and with the Marriage Equality Law being signed by Governor Cuomo, I can only imagine how much more crazy it was.

Friday night I was supposed to have marched in a local town Fireman’s parade but alas, the fire department that hired us, once again, canceled because it looked like rain. The clouds didn’t dampen our plans though. The hubby and I along with my Ex and Current Work Wife kept the dinner plans we had made. We started with drinks at my current work Wife’s house. I had a couple glasses of a very good Riesling.

After a couple glasses of wine for me and some Gin and Tonics for them we headed out to a new favorite restaurant we were introduced to called the White Horse pub. I had the Guinness Beef Stew for dinner and the Chocolate Lava cake for dessert.

Saturday was our annual Greyhound adoption group picnic. There were just about 200 people and over a 1oo dogs there to celebrate all the hard work we do to promote Greyhound adoption. Along with the food and company they do some games and the Costume Contest. Below are 2 pictures of my favorite costumes.

Frankly my Dear I don't give a damn

I titled this one “Carol Burnett’s Gone with the Wind”

We are so pupular that the Royal Couple showed up.

As part of the picnic we have a 50/50 raffle, Chinese Auction, and Silent Auction. I was able to snag this item with the highest bid.


Sunday we did have a bit of a pride celebration as we had brunch with some gays and gay friendlys. This was the first time we had brunch at this local place and I must say I was pretty impressed. Not just with the food but the free flowing Bellinis!

For my entree I ordered the Frittata special which had Bay Scallops, Spinach, Tomato and Feta in it. Since there were 9 of us we ended up just getting a “Dessert Sampler” a little bit of everything they were offering, Cannoli, Tiramisu, and Gelato. It was delicious!

Leave a Reply

