>I’m almost ready for my close-up

>So Tuesday will be a big day for me. After 2 months of getting checked out and a very interesting sleep study, I will be having surgery for my sleep apnea and breathing issues.

The technical term for what I am having done is a Septoplasty with Turbinate Reduction – Septoplasty is a corrective surgical procedure done to straighten the nasal septum, the partition between the two nasal cavities. Ideally, the septum should run down the center of the nose. When it deviates into one of the cavities, it narrows that cavity and impedes airflow. Turbinate reduction may also be advised to further enlarge the nasal cavities.  Most surgeries are completed in 90 minutes or less, not including recovery time. (via wikipedia).

In addition to the above I am getting the double added bonus of  uvulopalatopharyngoplasty (UPPP) the common surgical methods of removing the uvula. In case of UPPP, the tissues of the uvula, the soft palate, adenoids, tonsils and the pharynx, are removed. This surgery may include or exclude any of the above said locations from the surgery.

Part of the diagnosis (along with the basic office visit) was a sleep study to diagnose just how bad it was. Some of the interesting statistics were the fact that I stopped breathing about once every 2 minutes, stopped breathing for an average of 23 seconds, with the longest stretch of not breathing was 56 seconds.

So the hubby thought it would be funny to start telling people I was getting a new nose, and then proceeded to list the 4 options as The George Clooney, The Rachel (Jennifer Aniston), The Micheal (Jackson), or The Sicilian. Sorry to report the DR’s office didn’t have a book of noses to pick from so I am stuck with the one I got.

Tuesday is my surgery day, then it’s a week of recovery, Daytime TV is so bad I’ve started to DVR as many movies as I can so as to not get sucked into Maury, Rachel, Oprah, and the Soaps.

The worst part of the recovery will be the fact that I won’t be able to eat very much of anything. Tues and Weds will be liquid diet only, possibly by Thursday I can graduate to eggs, ice cream, and milkshakes.

So if I am feeling up to it next week while I am in my recovery induced crazyness I may just pop in and say hello….if not I’ll catch you all the following week.

4 thoughts on “>I’m almost ready for my close-up

  1. >Dude that is some serious excavation! Will be thinking about you for sure! Enjoy those milkshakes!(BTW – with all that extra space in the back of your throat…um ahem? wink wink!)

  2. >Ouch & ouch. And I am a practicing wimp. Gracious – don't tell my husband, he might send me for a nose job. I hear tell I …. Are girls 'spose to admit 'snoring'? Oh well, we're like family :). Happy recovery!! They should give good appetite suppressants for things like this!! I am having a tooth pulled Friday & decided at the advice of a GNC employee to do a cleanse regime – what better time ? I liked my old BB – it was easy to subscribe to RSS feeds! Alright – thanks for sharing & Thursday is my birthday so put a candle in your little malt & enjoy!! Hope it works … The surgery!

Leave a Reply

